Welcome To Brunei Darussalam!

Saturday, 6 June 2009

Brunei Darussalam "The Abode Of Peace" - In the north west corner of the island of Borneo, along the shores of the South China Sea, lies the sultanate of Brunei Darussalam. With a total land area of 5,765 square kilometres, Brunei is divided into four districts namely, Brunei -Muara,Tutong, Belait and TemburongBandar Seri Begawan, the country's capital is located in theBrunei -Muara district. About 70% of Brunei's land area is covered by pristine rainforest, home to many varieties of flora and fauna endemic only in the island of Borneo. A great portion of the country's dense rainforest is situated in and around Temburong district. Brunei's population is mainly composed of Malays with a mixture of Chinese and Indian communities. Expatriates and a few indigenous groups comprise a minority of the population.

Bahasa Melayu is the official language but English is widely spoken and understood in Brunei. The country is ruled according to established Islamic values and traditions by the present monarch, His Majesty Sultan Haji Hassanal Bolkiah Mu'izzadin Waddaulah.

Brunei enjoys warm, equatorial climate all year round with very minor seasonal variations. Situated off the typhoon and earthquake belts, Brunei is free from all natural disasters, making it a safe holiday spot. Brunei receives high levels of annual rainfall and experience high humidity all year round. Today, Brunei Darussalam is actively involved in international, regional and sub-regional core groups such as the Asia Pacific Economic Co-op (APEC), ASEAN and BIMP- EAGA and rapidly emerging as an active player in the region's affairs. The strong and stable support of his Majesty’s government contributes to the growing interest in Brunei both as a developing economy and a haven of eco tourism.